WV.gov  |  Administration  |  Purchasing  |  Vendor Registration

 

Vendor Registration

The West Virginia Purchasing Division registers vendors to do business with state agencies, in accordance with West Virginia Code §5A-3-12.  By the authority granted in this section of the code, registration is required of any vendor receiving a purchase order.  West Virginia Code §5A-3-12 also requires the disclosure of information, such as ownership, all names under which a vendor is doing business, their physical address, and its corporate officers.

The vendor registration process is completed by meeting all requirements of a WV-1 or WV-1A Vendor Registration & Disclosure Statement and Small, Women, & Minority-Owned Business Certification form, available online at http://www.state.wv.us/admin/purchase/forms.html.  Vendors must use the most current version of the WV-1 or WV-1A form from the aforementioned link.

The WV-1 form is to be completed by vendors who wish to participate in the competitive bid process and receive purchase orders exceeding an aggregate amount of $1,000.  Payment of a $125 annual fee is required when submitting the WV-1.  With a completed WV-1, vendors also gain online access to the weekly West Virginia Purchasing Bulletin, the publication used to advertise statewide competitive bid opportunities expected to exceed $25,000.

The WV-1A form is to be completed by vendors supplying sole-source commodities and services to West Virginia state agencies or aggregate competitive purchases of $1,000 or less
in any one fiscal year.  After the vendor completes Part I of the WV-1A, the form needs to be sent to the requesting state agency's procurement officer for completion of Part II.

Vendors registering more than one branch may do so without an additional annual fee, provided the branches share the same tax identification number.

For the convenience of our vendors, the Vendor Resource Center offers a collection of resources related to state procurement and the competitive bid process.  It can be found at http://www.state.wv.us/admin/purchase/vrc/.

In accordance with the Code of State Rules 148 CSR 6.1.7, vendors must be licensed and in good standing with any and all state and local law and requirements, including proper registration with the Secretary of State's office, if applicable.  To search for a business or corporation with the Secretary of State's office, visit http://apps.sos.wv.gov/business/corporations.

For purchases of $25,000 or less, vendors are encouraged to market their commodities and services directly to state agency procurement officers.  A complete list of state agency procurement officers can be found at http://www.state.wv.us/admin/purchase/vrc/agencyli.html.

For more information on the vendor registration process, please visit our frequently-asked questions page.

Vendors wanting to learn more about how to do business with the State of West Virginia are encouraged to read the West Virginia Vendor Procurement Guide, which serves as an introductory resource for businesses interested in the procurement process with state government entities.

The vendor registration process can be completed by mail or in person at the West Virginia Purchasing Division's offices in Building 15 on the West Virginia State Capitol Complex.  Our address and contact information for our Vendor Registration Coordinator can be found below.

Location:

Contact:

2019 Washington Street, East
Post Office Box 50130
Charleston, West Virginia
25305-0130
USA

Gail Montantez, Acting Vendor Registration Coordinator
(304) 558-2311
Gail.K.Montantez@wv.gov
FAX:  304-558-3507

 


Small, Women-, and Minority-Owned Businesses

As required by West Virginia Code §5A-3-59, the West Virginia Purchasing Division has incorporated the Small, Women-, and Minority-Owned Businesses (SWAM) Certification Application as part of the Vendor Registration & Disclosure Statement and Small, Women, & Minority-Owned Business Certification (WV-1 and WV-1A forms), beginning July 1, 2012.  As a result, vendors may apply to become certified if they fall within the business categories defining a small, women-, and minority-owned business.

West Virginia Code of State Rules §148-2-1 et seq. requires vendors to re-certify every two years in order to continue compliance.  The recognized designations for SWAM include:

Minority-owned Business, which means a business that is at least fifty-one percent owned by one or more minority individuals or in the case of a corporation, partnership, or limited liability company or other entity, at least fifty-one percent of the equity ownership interest in the corporation, partnership, or limited liability company or other entity is owned by one or more minority individuals and both the management and daily business operations are controlled by one or more minority individuals.

A “minority individual” means an individual who is a citizen of the United States or a noncitizen who is in full compliance with United States immigration law and who satisfies one or more of the following definitions:

African American means a person having origins in any of the original peoples of Africa and who is regarded as such by the community of which this person claims to be a part.

Asian American means a person having origins in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, the Indian subcontinent or the Pacific Islands, including, but not limited to, Japan, China, Vietnam, Samoa, Laos, Cambodia, Taiwan, Northern Mariana, the Philippines, a U.S. territory of the Pacific, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, or Sri Lanka and who is regarded as such by the community of which this person claims to be a part.

Hispanic American means a person having origins in any of the Spanish-speaking peoples of Mexico, South or Central America, or the Caribbean Islands or other Spanish or Portuguese cultures and who is regarded as such by the community of which this person claims to be a part.

Native American means a person having origins in any of the original peoples of North America and who is regarded as such by the community of which this person claims to be a part or who is recognized by a tribal organization.

Small Business means a business, independently owned or operated by one or more persons who are citizens of the United States or non-citizens who are in full compliance with United States immigration law, which, together with affiliates, has two hundred fifty or fewer employees, or average annual gross receipts of $10 million or less averaged over the previous three years.

Women-owned Business means a business concern that is at least fifty-one percent owned by one or more women who are citizens of the United States or non-citizens who are in full compliance with United States immigration law, or in the case of a corporation, partnership or limited liability company or other entity, at least fifty-one percent of the equity ownership interest is owned by one or more women who are citizens of the United States or noncitizens who are in full compliance with United States immigration law, and both the management and daily business operations are controlled by one or more women who are citizens of the United States or non-citizens who are in full compliance with United States immigration law.

When registering using the Vendor Self-Service (VSS) portal of wvOASIS at wvOASIS.gov or competing and submitting a Vendor Registration and Disclosure Statement and Small, Women-, and Minority-Owned Business Certification Application (WV-1 or WV-1A), the vendor certifies and acknowledges that by electronically submitting or signing the form:  1) it has obtained all licenses, certifications, and authorizations necessary to lawfully conduct business in the state of West Virginia; and 2) that the assertions made by completing and submitting this form or electronically submitting through the VSS are accurate and true in accordance with the applicable law and rules.  As authorized agent of the vendor named on the VSS or form submission, that individual solemnly swears that the above information is true and complete, in accordance with West Virginia Code §5A-3-12(e).

In the event that the vendor is applying for certification as a small, women-, or minority-owned business, the vendor’s signature (in writing or electronically through the VSS) further certifies that:  1) the state in which the vendor has its headquarters or principal place of business does not deny a like certification to a West Virginia based small, women-owned, or minority-owned business; 2) the state in which the vendor has its headquarters or principal place of business does not provide a preference to small, women-owned, or minority-owned firms that is unavailable to West Virginia based businesses; and, 3) that it has read and understands the Vendor Registration and Disclosure Statement and Small, Women-, and Minority-Owned Business Certification Application or the information included on the VSS, along with the law and rules governing certification as a small, women-owned, or minority-owned business.

For more information on the Small, Women-, and Minority-Owned Businesses (SWAM) certification process, please visit our frequently-asked questions page.


[HOME] [SITE MAP] [CONTACT US] [SEARCH]

Privacy Information
© 2014 State of West Virginia
All Rights Reserved