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Objectives

▪ Discuss who is required to register as a vendor and when the registration fee is 
applicable

▪ Review the process for agencies to check a vendor’s registration status using the 
VCUST table

▪ Discuss ways to best interpret vendor registration data found in the wvOASIS system

▪ Discuss the avenues to register or update a vendor’s record with the state, including 
the creation of wvOASIS documents

▪ Explain transactional vendor registration fee-exemption process

▪ Explain the responsibilities of the agency and the Purchasing Division in the vendor 
registration process



Definitions

▪ Vendor:  Referenced on expenditure transactions

▪ Customer:  Referenced on revenue transactions

▪ Vendor Self-Service:  Vendor portal

▪ VCUST:  Vendor/Customer table in wvOASIS Advantage Financial

▪ VCC: Vendor/Customer Creation

▪ VCM:  Vendor/Customer Maintenance

▪ Transaction:  The combined Ordering and Payment process



Vendor Registration in Code

▪Vendor Registration is 
required by West Virginia 
Code §5A-3-12.  It 
requires:
▪ Disclosure of Information

▪ Payment of annual fee

▪ Both parts required to 
complete registration

Purchasing Division Vendor Registration

Disclosure of Information Payment of Annual Fee



Information to Be Disclosed

▪ Information required from registered vendors

▪ Name(s)

▪ Business address
▪ Ordering and Payment address required for vendors

▪ Ordering, Payment, and Billing required for customers

▪ Telephone Number

▪ Owners or officers

▪ City and state of residence for the owners or officers

▪ Agent representation

▪ Dun & Bradstreet number and rating, if any (vendors may find through dnb.com)

▪ Banking reference(s), if any



Non-Law Reasons for Vendor Registration

▪ Protects the state
▪ Fraud

▪ Illegitimate businesses

▪ Provides transparency and 
accountability

▪ Provides a centralized 
clearinghouse for vendor 
registration information

▪ Handouts:



Code of State Rules 148 CSR 1

▪148-1-6. Registration, Bidding, and Award
▪ Except for purchasing card vendors providing travel-
related services or receiving an aggregate total yearly 
payment less than $25,000 from a spending unit, all 
vendors shall register with the Purchasing Division.

▪ Vendors may register through the Vendor Self-Service 
portal or by completing the vendor registration and 
disclosure statement provided by the Purchasing 
Division.



148 CSR 1 (Continued)

▪ Except for purchasing card vendors providing travel-related 
services or receiving an aggregate total yearly payment less 
than $25,000 from a spending unit, vendors receiving orders 
for goods or services exceeding $2,500, regardless of 
payment method, shall pay an annual fee of $125.  A 
vendor with multiple locations shall pay only one fee when 
operating under one Federal Employer Identification Number 
(FEIN).

▪ The Director may waive the registration requirements in the 
case of any vendor who is a sole-source provider.



148 CSR 1 (Continued)

▪ Director shall not award any contract to any vendor not properly 
registered with the Purchasing Division.

▪ Vendor must be licensed and in good standing in accordance with any 
and all state and local laws and requirements by any state or local 
agency of West Virginia, including, but not limited to, the West Virginia 
Secretary of State’s Office, the West Virginia Tax Department, West 
Virginia Insurance Commission, or other state agencies or political 
subdivisions.  The vendor must provide all necessary releases to 
obtain information necessary to verify that the vendor is licensed and 
in good standing with the above entities.

▪ Status with some agencies reflected under “Fee and Vendor Compliance Holds” in 
VCUST



Other Agencies’ Ordering Requirements

Fee and Vendor Compliance 
Holds on VCUST Table

State Agency Responsible

"Tax Clearance”
West Virginia State Tax 

Department

"Unemployment Insurance" WorkForce West Virginia

"Worker's Compensation"
West Virginia Offices of the 
Insurance Commissioner

"Secretary of State 
Registration"

West Virginia Secretary of State 
(must be verified manually)



Ordering and Payment

▪ Two main components in a state procurement transaction.
▪ Ordering, or “Order From.”

▪ Order-from file formerly stored in the TEAM Purchasing System.

▪ Payment, or “Remit To.”

▪ Remit-to file formerly stored in WVFIMS.

Order From Remit To

DOA Agency 
Responsible

Purchasing 
Division

Finance Division

Representative 
field in wvOASIS’s
VCUST table 
under 
“Disbursement 
Options”

“Prevent New 
Orders”

“Hold Payment”



Two Ways to Determine if a Vendor/Customer Has an Existing 
Account with the State

▪ Before a state agency proceeds with the 
vendor registration process or a 
procurement document

▪ “Ready, Aim, Fire”
▪ Not “Fire, Ready, Aim”

▪ Ensure vendor registration is complete 
prior to your agency issuing a purchase 
order, written or verbal, and before 
receiving goods or services from vendor

▪ Promote vendor use of VSS portal for 
registration or furnish WV-1 form

▪ Do not complete any portion of paper forms for 
vendor

▪ If necessary, guide vendor to 
headquarters account for their active tax 
identification number

Two ways to determine if 
a Vendor/Customer has 
an existing account with 

the State

State 
Agency

VCUST table 
in wvOASIS

Vendor

Vendor 
Self-Service



Agencies May Check a Vendor’s Registration Status

▪ Check VCUST table in wvOASIS to see if a vendor is already 
registered

▪ Log in to wvOASIS Financial

▪ “Jump to” VCUST

▪ Search by Tax Identification Number (TIN) or Legal Name

▪ If multiple Vendor/Customer records exist, determine which one is the 
appropriate one



Agencies May Check a Vendor’s Registration Status

▪ Vendor “Active” Status is not a reflection of any state agency’s registration.



Verifying the Two Requirements:  Disclosure of Information

▪ Information within VCUST shows a state employee if vendor has provided the two 
requirements for registration:  the Disclosure of Information (1) and the payment of 
the $125 annual fee (2).

▪ 1st requirement can be verified under “Disclosures” on the Document Navigator.



Two Requirements:  Payment of Annual Fee

▪ Information within VCUST shows a state employee if vendor has provided the two 
requirements for registration:  the Disclosure of Information (1) and the payment of 
the $125 annual fee (2).

▪ 2nd requirement can be verified under “Vendor/Customer” on the Document 
Navigator by checking Registration Expiration Date.



Interpreting the Search Results You See in VCUST

▪wvOASIS VCUST table made up of vendor data from 
multiple legacy (pre-wvOASIS) state systems, including:
▪ DOA Purchasing Division’s TEAM Purchasing System

▪ DOA Finance Division’s WVFIMS System

▪ WV State Auditor’s Office P-Card Vendor File

▪As a result of the “duplicate” wvOASIS VCUST record 
entries, there are some things you should know as we 
procure with wvOASIS.



Interpreting the Search Results You See in VCUST

▪ Identify the vendor/customer’s headquarters account for their valid 
federal tax ID
▪ If you find a vendor account on VCUST, check under the “Headquarters” tab to 
see if the record is the company’s Headquarters Account, as this is the account 
that should be used by state agencies.  In addition, you will encounter the least 
amount of opposition with holds.

▪ If you are in touch with the vendor, verify (“fingerprint”) the entity’s active federal 
tax ID under which they are currently operating.



Interpreting the Search Results You See in VCUST

▪ When doing a name search in VCUST, use the “wildcard” as much as 
possible, such as between initials.

▪ Example:  You may find just one or two listings under *JP Morgan*, whereas, you may 
find four or five listings under *J*P*Morgan*



Interpreting the Search Results You See in VCUST

▪ Navigating through “duplicate” wvOASIS VCUST records and 
processing successfully
▪ If multiple accounts are found under the same FEIN with different 
variations/abbreviations of the company name, then only the Headquarters 
account should be utilized, as the other accounts are considered duplicate 
accounts and some may have been rendered “Inactive” or placed on 
“Discontinue - No New Business”



Interpreting the Search Results You See in VCUST

▪ The exception would be if the 
vendor is doing business under 
another name (such as a DBA 
with the same FEIN) other than 
the Legal Name on the 
Headquarters Account.  These 
remain “Active” or not 
discontinued.

▪ Be aware of “Discontinue - No New 
Business” field

▪ Current method for flagging “duplicate” 
vendor/customer records without 
“inactivating”



Interpreting the Search Results You See in VCUST

▪ In addition, because some vendor data in wvOASIS originated in the 
legacy-system era, verify a vendor record by tax ID, not just by Legal 
Name, in order to determine the FEIN/SS# under which the vendor is 
currently doing business, so you do not select a vendor account with 
an outdated FEIN/SS# (under which the vendor was formerly doing 
business).



Fingerprinting Your Vendor in a Changing Economy

▪ Corporate acquisitions becoming more 
common

▪ Known vendors often getting purchased 
by other entities, may invalidate previous 
tax ID

▪ From the state’s perspective, a 
previously-registered vendor’s 
acquisition can mean a change in active 
tax ID

▪ Verify current entity’s active tax ID during 
your conversation with your apparent 
successful vendor

What’s in a name? 

What’s a Vendor? It is nor 
hand, nor foot,

Nor arm, nor face, nor any other 
part         

Belonging to a legal entity.

Except the federal tax 
identification number. 

--Romeo and Juliet, Act II, 
Scene II



Completing a Transaction:  Ordering and Payment

▪ Remit-To/”Hold Payment” with Finance Division

Order From Remit To

DOA Agency 
Responsible

Purchasing 
Division

Finance Division

Representative 
field in wvOASIS’s
VCUST table 
under 
“Disbursement 
Options”

“Prevent New 
Orders”

“Hold Payment”



The Registration Process:  Two Avenues to Register Online

VENDOR
(Vendor Self-

Service)

AGENCY 
(VCC or VCM
Document)

WV-1 or 
WV-1A 
form*

Successful 
Vendor/Customer 

Registration

DOA 
Review

Paper WV-1 and WV-1A 
still accepted by 

Purchasing Division, but 
electronic registrations 

are preferred

*



The Registration Process:  Vendor Self-Service

▪Vendor Self-Service (VSS) from vendor’s perspective
▪ If unclaimed record exists, vendors can activate the account or, if 
claimed, contact the account’s administrator within their entity

▪ If vendor discovers record is “Inactive,” there could be several 
causes.

▪ Status may indicate a record with newly-submitted documentation 
that is at the beginning stages of our system workflow.

▪ Vendor may have never submitted W-9 to Finance Division.

▪ Vendor may not have been utilized for several years and was set to 
this status during wvOASIS record “cleanup.”



The Registration Process:  Vendor Self-Service

▪Vendor Self-Service (VSS) from vendor’s perspective
▪ If no account exists for their entity’s tax ID, vendors can proceed 
with the application for registration with Purchasing Division
▪ Requires User ID(s) and Password(s) to be created

▪ Option to pay vendor registration fee at later date

▪ If vendor has technical questions or need assistance with the 
system, contact myOASIS Help Desk at (304) 558-6708, toll free at 
(855) 666-8823, or helpdesk@wvOASIS.gov.



The Registration Process:  Vendor Self-Service

▪ If vendor completes registration in Vendor Self-
Service
▪ New registrations or changes to vendor accounts are submitted 
and require approval of the state.

▪ Once approved, batch jobs are run between the wvOASIS and 
Vendor Self-Service systems to update the information every hour 
on the half hour.

▪ Vendor payments are not confirmed with the STO until the next 
business day.

▪ When a vendor newly registers through VSS, they should receive 
an email afterward indicating they have successfully registered.  
This email does not necessarily mean they are fully registered.
▪ Difference between creating an account and being “registered.”



The Registration Process:  Vendor Self-Service



The Registration Process for Agencies:  VCC or VCM Document

▪ For state agency employees, you 
can initiate a new 
Vendor/Customer record or
modify an existing one:
▪ Vendor/Customer Creation (VCC) or 
Vendor/Customer Maintenance 
(VCM) document:

▪ Within VCUST table
▪ Scroll to the bottom of the page and 
click on the “Create New Record” or 
“Modify Existing Record” link



The Registration Process for Agencies:  VCC or VCM Document

This is best utilized 
when finding an 

existing document, 
but is also a method 

for creating a 
document.



Review the VCC Document

▪ The VCC document is organized into sections that are similar to the 
VCUST table

▪ All VCC documents require approval of the State

▪ Documents in wvOASIS workflow do not immediately go to the 
Purchasing Division



Review the VCC Document

“Save” should be 
selected after 

completing info under 
each tab.

• If there is an attachment to be 
included, please add it while still in 
the “Header” portion.

• VCC Doc ID # must be included on 
WV-1A and the agency must either 
include a W-9 or indicate (on the 
form) that a 
W-9 has been sent to Finance 
Division.



Review the VCC Document

Click “Auto Generate” 
to populate 

Vendor/Customer # Required if 
“Individual.”

Required only if a 
“Sole Proprietor”; the 
vendor’s name is in 
this field while their 
company name is in 
the “Company Name” 

field.

Required if not 
“Individual.”

“Save” should be 
selected after 

completing info under 
each tab.

Required by 
the system

Must choose 
“Company” or 
“Individual.”



Review the VCC Document

“Save” should be 
selected after 

completing info under 
each tab.

Required Required



Disclosure of Information on a Registration

▪ Agencies must check under the 
“Disclosures” tab if the vendor is 
classified* as anything other than 
“Individual;” if information is incomplete, 
the vendor must add bank-reference 
information and at least two 
owners/officers (only one if vendor is 
“Sole Proprietor”) under the 
“Disclosures” tab through VSS.  The 
vendor must provide this information 
along with the vendor registration fee in 
order for workflow to begin on the state-
agency-review process, after which, the 
“Prevent New Orders” hold would be 
removed in VCUST.

▪ *“Classification” is indicated in the “1099 
Classification” field under the “Organization” 
tab.



Review the VCC Document

Must be “DIRC”

Must be Legal 
Name

“Save” should be 
selected after 

completing info under 
each tab.

This should not
be changed—
remains on 
“Prevent New 
Orders” hold 

until after review 
of registration by 

Purchasing 
Division.



Review the VCC Document

Select “Use My TIN 
Number”

“TIN Number” could 
also be SS#



Review the VCC Document

“Save” should be 
selected after 

completing info under 
each tab.

Purchasing Division 
will complete date-
related information 
if payment and 
disclosure info is 

confirmed.  
Vendor’s 

registration period 
starts from 

payment date.

Agencies may 
disregard the fields 

on this tab.

“Fee Exempt” field 
removed spring 

2017.



Review the VCC Document

Ordering & 
Payment

USD ($)

“Save” should be 
selected after 

completing info under 
each tab.

Select before “Ordering” 
address and before 
“Payment” address is 

input.



Review the VCC Document

Person’s Name

Click “Auto Generate”

Select “Email”
Valid Vendor 
Email Address Can enter the Principal 

Contact’s line and a main 
line for the business.



Review the VCC Document

“Save” should be 
selected after 

completing info under 
each tab.

Two-year certification

Enter as “Requested,” Purchasing Division 
will change to “Accepted” if approved.

Current Date

Business Type Required



Review the VCC Document

“Save” should be 
selected after 

completing info under 
each tab.

Select first

Required Required

“Active” or “Inactive” status 
based on whether you are 
entering entity as a vendor, 
as a customer, or as both



Review the VCC Document

“Save” should be 
selected after 

completing info under 
each tab.

“Title” not 
required when 
inputting “Bank 

Info.”

Select first

System requires 
phone number.



The VCM Document

▪ The VCM is used to modify an existing Vendor/Customer record

▪ Each VCM page contains virtually the same components as the VCC
document and VCUST table
▪ Enables the user to find the appropriate fields for data entry more readily

▪ Primary difference between VCC and VCM is the “Line Action” field



Review the VCM Document

• A vendor or agency may request 
adding an “Ordering” address through 
VSS or a VCM without having to 
provide back-up documentation for 
Purchasing.

• If the agency adds a “Payment” 
address, they must have back-up 
documentation from the vendor, 
which needs to be forwarded to the 
Finance Division, as they will be 
approving/rejecting the VCM
document related to remit-to 
addresses.

• The vendor is not to change a 
“Payment” address without forwarding 
back-up documentation to Finance 
Division, otherwise, Finance will reject 
this VSS-generated VCM.



Review the VCM Document

• Backup documentation for vendor 
address additions can be added as 
an attachment in the Header.



Transactional Exemption Process

▪ VNREGEX table in wvOASIS

▪ $2,500 threshold related to $125 vendor registration fee

▪ Vendor registration fee exemption for specific transactions



Transactional Exemption Process

▪ Additional handbook-related transactional exemption codes to vendor registration 
deployed to all Departments in 2016

▪ Code usage reviewed by Purchasing Division Inspection Unit; letters sent to agencies



Transactional Exemption Process

▪ Code input into the “Vendor Registration Exemption” field within the Header portion 
of the wvOASIS award document under the General Information tab

Transactional 
Code from 
VNREGEX



The Registration Process:  WV-1 Form

▪ Used to register vendors who 
want to participate in the 
competitive bid process and 
receive orders from state 
agencies
▪ This form requires the $125 fee

▪ Fee may be paid over the 
telephone via credit card

▪ Vendors are to mail all WV-1 
forms and payment directly to the 
Purchasing Division

▪ New WV-1 effective 6/10/2021



The Registration Process:  WV-1A Form

▪ Used to register sole-source 
vendors

▪ Also used to register vendors selling 
competitive goods or services 
$2,500 or less per year

▪ Vendor can complete and later 
create VSS login after VCUST entry

▪ No fee is required

▪ Part I – vendor completes

▪ Part II – agency completes and 
agency’s procurement officer signs



The Registration Process:  WV-1A Form

▪ WV-1A form can also be used by 
a vendor needing to submit 
information missing from original 
registration or through their VSS
registration.

▪ Include wvOASIS Doc ID # on 
WV-1A if a corresponding 
electronic document exists.  
Also, the agency must either 
include a W-9 or indicate (on the 
form) that a W-9 has been sent to 
Finance Division.

▪ New WV-1A effective 6/10/2021.



SWAM Certification

▪ The West Virginia Purchasing Division incorporated the Small, 
Women-, and Minority-Owned Businesses (SWAM) Certification 
Application as part of the vendor registration process
▪ May be applied for through Vendor Self-Service registration or using the WV-1 or 
WV-1A

▪ Created by West Virginia Code §5A-3-59

▪ CSR §148-2-1 et seq. requires vendors to re-certify every two years in 
order to continue compliance



SWAM Certification Check

▪How to check a vendor’s SWAM status in wvOASIS
▪ “Jump to” VCUST table

▪ Search and select appropriate vendor/customer record

▪ On the Document Navigator, click on the Business Type section 
within the vendor/customer (VCUST) record



SWAM Certification Check



SWAM Vendors

▪ Purchasing Division’s Vendor Registration web page features information on SWAM 
Certification

▪ www.state.wv.us/admin/purchase/VendorReg.html

▪ Also includes Current SWAM Vendor List for 
State of West Virginia

▪ Agencies can consult SWAM Vendor List PDF
▪ Updated every business day with data from wvOASIS

▪ Searchable by CTRL+F shortcut

▪ Non-resident SWAM vendors part of Vendor Preference Certificate (for appropriate 
commodities)

▪ At end of each FY, agencies must submit a SWAM report to the Purchasing Division
▪ Excel template downloadable from http://intranet.state.wv.us/admin/purchase/procedures.html

▪ Agency-accessible reports also available in Business Intelligence

▪ WV-FIN-PROC-039 does not include Purchasing Card transactions to SWAM-Certified vendors

▪ WV-FIN-AP-061 includes Purchasing Card and GAX transactions to SWAM-Certified vendors



State Agency Responsibilities

▪ The role of the state agency procurement officer is more vital than 
ever

▪ Must ensure Ordering and Payment requirements are in place for 
every transaction processed on behalf of your state agency

▪ Each side of an expenditure transaction includes state agency 
requirements, compliances, or registrations

▪ Completing these steps in the proper order facilitates an award that 
not only complies with state law, but processes more smoothly in 
wvOASIS and prevents issues with your vendor or with state agency 
requirements



State Agency Responsibilities (Ordering and Payment)

▪ A transaction’s order-from and remit-to requirements include, but not limited to:

Ordering Payment

Purchasing 
Division

Delivery, Receipt, 
and Acceptance of 
Commodities or 

Services

Finance Division

Secretary of State
State Auditor’s 

Office

State Tax 
Department

WorkForce West 
Virginia

Offices of the 
Insurance 

Commissioner



State Agency Responsibilities

▪ Purchasing Division Vendor 
Registration
▪ Promote vendor use of Vendor Self-
Service for vendor registration or 
furnish appropriate form to vendors 
with whom you wish to do business

▪ Ensure that vendors register prior to 
your agency issuing a purchase 
order, written or verbal, and before 
the agency receives commodities or 
services from any vendor

▪ Also verify hold statuses before
creating wvOASIS award document



State Agency Responsibilities

▪ If registering a vendor by providing a WV-1A paper vendor 
registration form:
▪ Type your agency’s name and mailing address on the WV-1A when 
you send it to the vendor

▪ Inform vendors to mail the WV-1A forms back to the agency, not 
Purchasing Division

▪ Complete Part II
▪ Procurement officer signs and forwards WV-1A to the Purchasing Division

▪ WV-1A forms without Part II completed and signed by the agency may not be 
processed

▪ WV-1A Part II updated September 2015 to clarify fee exemption on a 
transactional basis



State Agency Responsibilities



State Agency Responsibilities

▪ Prior to promoting registration through the Vendor Self-
Service portal or sending a WV-1 or WV-1A form to a 
vendor, check the VCUST table first to see if the vendor is 
already registered
▪ If found, verify if vendor’s business entity is still operating under the same tax ID

▪ Check “holds” on the vendor/customer record you need to use

▪ If vendor is not familiar with wvOASIS information for 
vendors is available at WVPurchasing.gov and 
http://www.state.wv.us/admin/purchase/oasis.html.

▪Do not complete any portion of the paper forms for the 
vendor, or alter the form once received



Purchasing Division Responsibilities

▪ Review all paper forms or wvOASIS documents for compliance, 
disclosure information, and payment of annual fee

▪ Check to make sure the entity is not already registered under a 
different vendor/customer record

▪ Determine whether the vendor is registering as a new vendor or 
updating their previous registration

▪ Identify headquarters account for vendor’s tax ID if registration 
received for “duplicate” record



Purchasing Division Responsibilities

▪ Purchasing Division cannot process incomplete vendor registration 
forms, whether received through wvOASIS workflow or paper 
registration forms

▪ “Prevent New Orders” hold will not be removed until all registration requirements are 
complete

▪ Incomplete WV-1 forms will be returned to the vendor

▪ Incomplete WV-1A forms may be returned to the requesting agency’s 
procurement officer

▪ Vendors who have not completed the required disclosures or payment 
of the annual fee will not be taken off the “Prevent New Orders” hold



Vendor Registration Web Pages

▪ Launched June 2012, Vendor 
Registration section of Purchasing 
Division website offers online 
resources to vendor community

▪ “Vendor Registration” menu 
option on WVPurchasing.gov



Vendor Registration Web Pages

▪ Launched August 2015, Vendor 
Registration section of Purchasing 
Division intranet site offers online 
resources specific to agency 
procurement officials

▪ http://intranet.state.wv.us/admin/
purchase/VendorReg.html



West Virginia Purchasing Bulletin

▪ Used to advertise all competitive 
purchases expected to exceed 
$10,000

▪ Can also include lesser-value solicitations 
if state agency chooses

▪ Agencies may access using the “View 
Published Solicitations” button on 
Vendor Self-Service

▪ Click on specific solicitation’s ID 
number link to view appropriate 
solicitation information, including 
specifications

▪ Vendors benefit from knowing where 
solicitation opportunities are 
advertised



West Virginia Purchasing Bulletin History

▪ December 1, 1989:  First issue of Bulletin published

▪ Published twice monthly until October 2, 2001

▪ October 2, 2001:  Bulletin published weekly

▪ July 1, 2002:  Posted weekly on Purchasing Division’s web site, in addition to published 
weekly

▪ Hard copy mailed to vendors every other week

▪ June 1, 2005:  Posted every Friday on web site only

▪ Hard copies are no longer mailed to vendors

▪ June 16, 2014: Vendor Self-Service early-access period open for use by the vendor 
community

▪ July 8, 2014: Phase C of wvOASIS went live; Bulletin migrated to Vendor Self-Service portal

▪ Remaining TEAM-era solicitations still published by Purchasing Division

▪ October 10, 2014:  Last issue of weekly Purchasing Division-published Bulletin



Find Vendors By Commodity Codes on File in VCUST

▪ Business Intelligence > Advantage Financial > Procurement > WV-FIN-
VN-010 Vendors by Commodity

▪ Identify a larger solicitation audience by the commodity code(s) specified by vendor in 
their record.

▪ wvOASIS > VCUST > Commodity

▪ State agencies can run the above report in Business Intelligence by the UNSPSC 
commodity code relevant to their solicitation and export the data to Excel to further 
analyze vendor contact information.

▪ Give your potential bidding audience a standard heads up directing them to a specific 
active solicitation.



WV-FIN-VN-010 Vendors by Commodity



WV-FIN-VN-010 Vendors by Commodity

▪ The data output by Business Intelligence can be saved as a Microsoft 
Excel file for sorting and review of vendor data.

▪ Other options for saving data exist, but Excel allows easy sorting and 
copying of potential vendor information.



WV-FIN-VN-010 Vendors by Commodity

▪ Exported spreadsheet conveniently centralizes entity name, wvOASIS
v/c #, Ordering address, telephone number(s), and email address(es) 
on file for prospective vendors.

▪ Some record duplication exists to display multiple contact persons.



In Review

▪ Purchasing Division maintains the “Prevent New Orders” field on the 
VCUST table; the Finance Division is responsible for “Hold Payment.”

▪ Before you proceed with the Vendor/Customer registration process, 
determine if the Vendor/Customer already has an account with the 
State.

▪ VCUST table in wvOASIS

▪ Identify the Headquarters-designated vendor/customer number in wvOASIS

▪ “Fingerprint” tax identification number 

▪ Check “Prevent New Orders” hold and “Hold Payment” status prior to creating award 
document and proceed accordingly (“Ready, Aim, Fire”)

▪ If account exists, encourage the Vendor/Customer to request any 
change(s) to their account directly through the Vendor Self-Service 
portal or submit a VCM document from your agency.
 Electronic method of registration preferred



In Review

Use resources at your disposal to navigate through the process and 
its requirements.

 Vendor Self-Service account creation does not equate to registration 
with any state agency.

▪ If no account exists, encourage the Vendor/Customer to complete the 
application process through Vendor Self-Service or submit a WV-1 or 
WV-1A form, or submit the VCC document from your agency.
▪ If registering a vendor with a VCC document, have information (Disclosure of 
Information, Addresses) received from vendor documented in order to verify 
your source; do not rely on Internet searches.



In Review

▪ Registrations, re-registrations, and account updates are pending 
review of the state.

▪ Clicking “VCM Query” at the bottom of an entity’s VCUST record will list any pending 
workflow documents under review by an agency.

▪ Vendor Registration policies apply transactionally, not by vendor.
▪ VNREGEX code usage part of Inspection Unit’s review of all agencies; letters are being 
sent to state agencies regarding specific misuses.

▪ Refer vendor community to WVPurchasing.gov’s “Vendor Registration” 
section; agencies regularly check Purchasing Division intranet’s 
Vendor Registration section.



If You Need Help

▪ Your first line of assistance is with your agency-designated 
procurement officer.
▪ www.state.wv.us/admin/purchase/vrc/agencyli.html

▪ For system-related problems, please contact the wvOASIS 
Help Desk at (304) 558-6708, toll free at (855) 666-8823, or 
helpdesk@wvOASIS.gov.



Purchasing Division Contacts

▪ For all other Vendor Registration and Vendor/Customer Registration 
Creation and Maintenance questions, please contact:

▪ Mark Totten, Technical Services Manager, Purchasing Division

▪ Mark.L.Totten@wv.gov

▪ (304) 558-7839; State Cisco Network Extension 57530

▪ Terra Oliver, Vendor Registration Coordinator, Purchasing Division

▪ Purchasing.VendorRegistration@wv.gov

▪ (304) 558-2311; State Cisco Network Extension 57500

▪ FAX:  (304) 558-3507



Questions?


